Tuesday, September 25, 2012


The Penghu Islands are an archipelago off the western coast of Taiwan in the Taiwan Strait consisting of 90 small islands and islets covering an area of 141 square kilometers.  Yuwongdao Lighthouse is located at the southwestern tip of the Yuwongdao Island near the village of Waian. The original light station was established in 1778 in a tower of a pagoda and the current lighthouse was built in 1875. The 11 m (36 ft) round cast iron tower was designed by the British engineer David Henderson and installed under contract to the Chinese Imperial government (Ch’ing Dynasty).